Published: Fri, May 19, 2017
Sport | By Ellis Neal

MS Dhoni was magnificent, says Smith after RPS reach IPL 2017 final

MS Dhoni was magnificent, says Smith after RPS reach IPL 2017 final

Mumbai Indians needed 17 off the final over bowled by Mohit Sharma, and 10 off the last four deliveries.

With this, RPS climbed up to the second spot on the points table and will take on table-toppers Mumbai Indians in the qualifiers at Wankhede Stadium on Tuesday.

Smith took joy in the fact that Pune proved to be Mumbai's nemesis every time they met this season. "Hopefully, the other guys will stand up for us".

The race to the top four spots turned out to be pretty close towards the end with Kings XI Punjab's wins over MI and KKR making the going hard for the the top three teams with Mumbai confirming their qualification well in advance. The other players in the team have a lot to learn from Hashim Amla, be it worldwide players or Indian.

Dhoni, who also led Chennai Super Kings for eight consecutive seasons, will become the only player to feature into seven Indian Premier League finales.

Dhoni has had his critics during the tournament, but the former India captain will play in a record seventh IPL final after bludgeoning a brutal unbeaten 40 off only 26 balls to get Pune up to 162-4. MI & RPS contest in the first of the playoff matches - having finished the league season as the top two teams Mumbai Indians, contrary to what they've generally done in the past, established momentum very early in the season.

The victor will become the first team to seal a place in the VIVO 2017 IPL finals, to be played in Hyderabad on May 21.On the other hand, the loser will get another chance in Qualifier 2, to be played on May 19 in Bengaluru. The batting responsibility would also be on the shoulders of Rohit Sharma and Ambati Rayudu. Tiwary and Dhoni scored at 9.95 runs in the 7.2 overs that they batted together. Jasprit Bumrah, Parthiv Patel, Lasith Malinga, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nitish Rana and Harbhajan Singh. MI will want their skipper - and biggest match-winner - to keep piling on the runs. MS Dhoni was magnificent, Rahane was good at the start.

Bowling: Sandeep Sharma 2-0-12-0, Mohit Sharma 1-0-6-0, Ishnat Sharma 1-0-12-0, Rahul Tewatia 3-0-14-0, Axar Patel 2-0-13-1, Swapnil Singh 1-0-6-0, Glenn Maxwell 2-0-15-0.

The run-rate pressure was non-existent which made it easier for Ajinkya Rahane (34 not out) and skipper Steve Smith (15 not out) to knock off the runs after Tripathi got out.

Like this: